Reviews

9.1
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.6
Comfort
9.5
Property location
8.8
Facilities
9.3
Staff
9.6
Value
7.9

Reviews

    Ammata
    th

    Review score

    7.5
    19 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    hk

    Review score

    8.8
    16 April 2018

    A pleasant stay at Kinnotake

    Didn't provide transportation between the station and the hotel.
    It's quiet and peaceful, staffs were friendly and helpful. Breakfast and dinner are very tasty but not too heavy.
    Juliette
    au

    Review score

    10
    14 April 2018

    This is not just a hotel it is a place you stay to soak in the volcanic waters in privacy.

    Everything was brilliant. No need to bring a pillow - this hotel is extremely comfortable on all levels.
    au

    Review score

    8.8
    31 March 2018
    Extremely expensive, not really worth it.
    Amazing experience
    au

    Review score

    9.2
    20 March 2018

    I was very well-rested here after a long day in hakone.

    - I feel like the price should be reevaluated.It is fairly steep for what it provides. For example: There's no garden or other facility besides a small lounge/bar. dinner is not private, it is in an open dining area. depending on the guests, it can get loud. I don't want hear other people's conversation. The person serving us was very nice but busy and you can see they would quickly explain the dish and would then start running back and forth between tables. Loud noises and lack of time and attention affects the mood and dining experience. Kaiseki is nice If you enjoy the taste of seafood and a slimy and pudding-like gustatory experience (sticky tofu, sticky sauce/soup etc). I feel like some of the menu could be revised as the sticky sauce/soups were a bit repetitive. Dessert was abit simple. - we paid 1200$ aud/night here. I have stayed in another ryokan that was 900$AUD/night which offered a lot more than this one currently provides. They assigned us a lady to look after us during the entire stay. Private room for dinner. Kaiseki was better with a diverse beverage menu that was free of charge during our dining experience. They had a nice garden and view.
    - cleanliness - calm and relaxation - modern facilities which drew me into booking this place - comfortable beds - private bath- clean - located near a pristine river - friendly staff members who try their best to appease their guests - English speaking staff
    Chi Hung Peter
    hk

    Review score

    8.8
    25 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Wai Ching
    hk

    Review score

    5.8
    24 February 2018
    Too commercial, setting of resturant, dinner n breakfast under expectation in consideration of price
    In room onsen
    Thomas
    us

    Review score

    10
    15 February 2018
    A selection of pillows would have been nice. I usually sleep on memory foam and took a bit of adjustment. The bed was huge, but a bit firm for my liking. My wife loved the bed though.
    The staff was amazing, every little detail was thought out. All the meals were fantastic. The onsens we're perfect.
    Tina
    nz

    Review score

    9.2
    11 February 2018

    Nice view and place to stay if you would like to enjoy more privacy.

    Nothing impressive from dinner.
    The little pool and the view come with were gorgeous.
    Loredana
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    30 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    hk

    Review score

    10
    27 January 2018

    An enjoyable and excellent stay!

    The staff was super friendly and helpful. Environment was peaceful very much helped me to relax. An excellent experience.
    Melanie
    sg

    Review score

    9.2
    17 January 2018

    As this was the family's first visit to a Japanese onsen, this was a great introduction.

    ROOM CHOICE: I would take a lower floor as the highest floor gets the road noise. ROOM: The open plan bathroom doesnt work so well as there is only one mirror. DINING: The dining room is a public restaurant and this takes away from the dining experience. It feels more like a small hotel than a traditional inn. If you want a traditional experience, try a smaller onsen.
    We arrived in winter and this onsen was well heated with modern a/c. Even though it has a Japanese look, it is very modern and efficient.
    YOUNG IL KIM
    kr

    Review score

    9.6
    16 January 2018

    Absolutely perfect rykan in Hakone

    Nothing
    Cozy, warm place for couple
    Ebing
    sg

    Review score

    5.4
    1 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Dave
    gb

    Review score

    10
    8 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    CaraCaraCaraCaraCara
    us

    Review score

    10
    3 December 2017

    Luxurious, memorable, beautiful - a perfect memory and lovely stay

    Everything the hotel did was wonderful. Hakone, the city was very busy on the Sunday that we visited, we would recommend not visiting on a weekend day. The city buses were a bit difficult to figure out at first, but once you do figure it out they become quite handy.
    My husband and I traveled throughout Japan for 14 days, and stayed at several ryokans throughout our journey. Kinnotake Tonosawa was by far our favorite, a truly exceptional hotel. This inn perfectly blends modern amenities and luxury with classic Japanese hospitality. If you are looking for 1 Ryokan experience during your trip, it should be with Kinnotake Tonosawa - truly one of our most memorable parts of the trip. We were welcomed warmly in the lobby, which is modern with polished concrete floors, immaculate floor to ceiling windows, and stylish furniture. Our room was well appointed, on the second floor and very organized. The beds were comfortable, and the room was stocked with Yukata, and perfectly packaged personal effects to keep - I have the hair clips and hair ties home with me, and will cherish them! We surely indulged in our private Onsen on our patio. It was such a lovely way to go to sleep and wake each morning with a mineral dip. The mini bar was also well stocked with wine, champagne, and green tea. This inn was the only hotel in our entire 14 day stay within Japan to supply us with a 2 liter jug of local mineral water that was replenished every day! Dinners were an exceptional treat - true kaiseki cuisine, with no less than 8 or 9 courses. The staff were incredibly gracious in explaining to us the ingredients of each dish and how each should be savored. The dining room is exceptional - gorgeous views...and well thought out. You will dine with others during your reserved time, but the way the tables and chairs are configured yields a very private experience. We chose the Western breakfast, which was also coursed, and equally delicious. We loved the fact that this hotel was where actual Japanese locals come to enjoy a weekend. The staff is courteous and helpful, and we were able to communicate through the language barrier. Hotel is off the Deyama bus stop, make sure you push the call button on the bus after your stop is announced!
    Lei
    ca

    Review score

    10
    25 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    au

    Review score

    10
    21 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    chow
    hk

    Review score

    7.5
    20 November 2017

    Very unique experience of luxury hot springs hotel

    Layout of the spacious room, unfortunately we don't feel comfortable
    Japanese dinner is really good.
    il

    Review score

    10
    10 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews